Centre National de Recherche Scientifique


CNRS is a government-funded research organization, under the administrative authority of France’s Ministry of Higher Education and Research, whose main missions are to evaluate and carry out all research capable of advancing knowledge and bringing social, cultural, and economic benefits for society and to participate in the analysis of the national and international scientific climate and its potential for evolution in order to develop a national policy.

As the largest fundamental research organization in Europe, CNRS carried out research in all fields of knowledge, through its ten institutes. CNRS laboratories (or research units) are located throughout France (and abroad) and employ a large body of tenured researchers, engineers, and support staff (around 34,000 persons).

About 5,000 foreign researchers visit its laboratories every year, with 1,690 permanent foreign researchers. Moreover, CNRS has 50 framework agreements for researchers’ exchanges with some 40 countries, 331 International Programs for Scientific Cooperation (PICS), 127 International Associated Laboratories (LIA) , 112 International Research Networks (GDRI), 30 International Joint Units and 27 Joint Units-French research institutes abroad (UMIFRE). Moreover CNRS has representative offices in Beijing, Brussels, Hanoi, Malta, Moscow, New Delhi, Pretoria, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago of Chile, Tokyo, and Washington D.C.

ERA-Can+ team at CNRS

  • Xavier Morise, Director CNRS Office for the USA, Canada and Mexico
  • Jean Thèves, Adjoint au directeur, Amériques et Océanie
  • Diemu-Trémolières, European Project Manager